In 1760, Henry Hoagland sold land along the west side of Old Nazareth Road to a settler named Peter Seip. Shortly thereafter, in honor of Peter Seip, this area became known as Seipsville. He began building what was to be the first public house between Easton and Nazareth. Soon after its construction, the Seipsville Inn became a very popular stagecoach stop for travelers passing through the Lehigh Valley. These weary frontiersmen could sleep, eat, and enjoy an evening of gossip at the newly erected inn.
As time passed, the Seipsville Inn became a famous meeting place for many civic and political organizations. The township board of supervisors met regularly here at the Seipsville Inn. At one particular meeting, they discussed plans for creating a new township. At the time, Seipsville was part of Forks Township. So in 1857, these determined men decided to establish a new township. Named after George Palmer, the Surveyor General of Pennsylvania, it became known as Palmer Township. The details were finalized here in the meeting room located on the second floor.
Throughout much of the 20th century, the Seipsville Inn continued to serve many purposes. It was used as a polling place and a post office for township residents. In 1977, the Seipsville Inn was purchased by the late Elpedio “Pete” Pettinelli. The Pettinelli family immediately worked to restore the building to its original design. During that same year, the Seipsville Inn was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Now Seipsville has revealed its unique and original eighteenth-century architecture and stonework in a venue that provides the warm and inviting atmosphere for your corporate event, intimate gathering or banquet.